Back to Guilds

Tags: writing, stories, character, development, feedback 

Reply NaNoWriMo [And Other Contests]
Potential Ideas

Quick Reply

Enter both words below, separated by a space:

Can't read the text? Click here

Submit

Do you outline your story before writing?
  Yes
  No
  What's an outline? o.0
View Results

Ichigo_Sakurai

PostPosted: Tue Sep 21, 2010 9:35 pm
This is my first attempt at NaNoWriMo in about seven years...

I'm a slow writer and usually go about things very gradually, so the one-month process is hard for me.

I have a few ideas for stories that I'm throwing around...some new, some old. Which leads to my first question:

Would it be considered cheating to rewrite a story for which I've written a partial draft, even if I started over from scratch?

My other question is a little more general: What kinds of ideas do you have for your November story? If you feel like sharing, that is. I have some characters and scenarios in mind, but I don't know which ones to pick yet. I'd love to hear what genres, etc. other contestants will be using.  
PostPosted: Tue Sep 21, 2010 10:28 pm
I've attempted NaNoWriMo every year since I first heard of it. Even if that "attempt" only consisted of a few thousand words, I figure some writing is better than none. This year, I am determined to at least hit the 25k mark.

I am also a slow writer. Most of the stories that I have, I've been working on for years. Doesn't help that so many short stories spiral out of control and become massive story arcs. D:

Ichigo_Sakurai
Would it be considered cheating to rewrite a story for which I've written a partial draft, even if I started over from scratch?

I don't think so, but then the rules for NaNoWriMo seem more than a bit subjective to me. *unhelpful*