Welcome to Gaia! ::

CAN WE find 1,000,000 Christians on gaia!!!!

Back to Guilds

we CAN find 1,000,000 Christians on gaia just join! 

Tags: christian, Jesus, Christ, faith, love 

Reply Advice ~ because we care
Reading the Bible

Quick Reply

Enter both words below, separated by a space:

Can't read the text? Click here

Submit

thes270

Questionable Lunatic

PostPosted: Sat Jan 01, 2011 9:58 am
So I'm somewhat new to christianity and although I've learned a lot from just attending church services and sunday school, I would like to try to dive into the scripture on my own and see what my interpretations are. The problem that I have encountered is that there are many books in the bible and I'm not sure where to start. It's a little overwhelming to be honest. Any suggestions for a good book to start in and then maybe a few follow-up books?  
PostPosted: Sat Jan 01, 2011 10:21 am
I've always found it hard to read the Bible from cover to cover and I've been a Christian for most of my life. Some people like to use those study bibles that will help you get through the Bible from Genesis to Revelation in one year. I'm not sure how effective they are because I personally don't like them.

Some books I like to read in the Bible are the New Testament as a whole and Psalms, Proverbs, Job, Isaiah, Daniel---from the Old Testament.  

Shadows-shine

Invisible Shapeshifter

Hidden By Music

6,900 Points
  • Tycoon 200
  • Generous 100
  • Conversationalist 100
PostPosted: Sat Jan 01, 2011 10:45 am
i wouldn't read it from cover to cover, but I would start with Genisis it being the beginning. That's just me  
PostPosted: Sat Jan 01, 2011 2:36 pm