“Ah, you’re one of my sister’s sador, yes?” Ulo looked up from what he’d been drawing in the dirt with a claw, carefully trying to mimic the patterns and images from growing up that he’d seen on pelt after pelt in the Ela’wadiyi. It wasn’t hard to recognize what line the female who stood not far away came from; she was as royal as his mate’s cousin, as Noh’vah.

“Yes, Ulogila. Ah...forgive me. I’m not very good with names.” The female chuckled, amusement on her face.

“Lachiell. A pleasure, Ulogila. I couldn’t help but notice the tattoos of you and your mate. How on earth did you get them? I’ve seen a lion littered with scars, but never tattoos to the extent either of you have.” Oh. Well. That was the first time someone had asked him about the tattoos he’d just...grown up with.

“From the nvwati and alu’nadi of my birth clan. They tell my story from birth to before I left with Nova.” Lachiell looked him over, then made a thoughtful noise.

“That is an interesting way to record one’s life. How does one do it? How does one know the right patterns to use?”

“Well, there are a lot of factors to it. The process itself is better shown than explained, and if you’d like, I can do that later? But the patterns...well, they do tend to be broad but recognizable. For example! See the recurring theme of birds across my pelt? That speaks to my birth clan in the Ela’wadiyi, the Bird Clan.” He began to go over some of his tattoos, explaining what each one meant. Which ones denoted accomplishments, which one spoke of his marriage to Nova and subsequent clan move. Which one spoke of grand sights he had seen and described to others. And Lachiell listened the whole way through, enthralled.

“Such an elegant way to keep track of things. It’s like a kiirar’s work, but on the pelt instead of the rocks, and more refined. Ah, I imagine it’s limited to one’s life, and cannot be used to mark territory or warn young ones from places they should not be?” Ulo nodded.