Welcome to Gaia! ::

Why Not?

Back to Guilds

No rules, just Fun! Join today. 

Tags: Roleplaying, Polls, Spam 

Reply "IDT" Intelligent Discussion Threads!
Evolution and Creationism Goto Page: 1 2 3 [>] [»|]

Quick Reply

Enter both words below, separated by a space:

Can't read the text? Click here

Submit

Cornelius loh Quatious

PostPosted: Thu May 11, 2006 12:43 pm
I figured that this would come up eventually, so I've got some ground rules, because this is touchy subject. Pretty much, all the normal rules apply, but DOUBLE. Be respectful, make your posts matter, and keep a cool head. No bashing. Period.

The topic:
arrow What are your thoughts on the Evolution versus Creationism debate? Should both or neither be taught in schools? Are the two trains of thought exclusive from each other? Etc, etc.

My thoughts:

I've been studying evolution and planetary science in general for pretty much all of my life. Currently, I'm majoring in Environmental Sciences at my university (if you really want to know where I go PM me, but otherwise I don't want it to affect the discussion). Basically, the biggest misconception about evolution is that it's "Just a Theory." Theories, by the scientific definition, are not just guesses or hunches. A theory is a "logically self-consistent model or framework for describing the behavior of a related set of natural or social phenomena. It originates from and/or is supported by experimental evidence." Basically, that means it's just short of becoming scientific LAW. You know gravity? That also is a scientific theory. E=mc^2? Another theory. These are models which have been tested time and time again, and always with the same results. That is the process of the scientific method.