Submit

Your face
  is a man face
  is a not-man face
  ZWITTER!
View Results

baigais

PostPosted: Wed Feb 21, 2007 6:25 pm
I've been getting trained for opera for about half a year.

Practicing has become one of my most enjoyable pastimes.
Specially when no one's home and I can sing in the shower. The acoustics in my bathroom are amazing! xd  
PostPosted: Fri Feb 23, 2007 10:26 pm
I'm not too well-informed with opera, but I've been doing musical theatre for about two years now. What voice part do you usually sing?  

Falafel25

6,550 Points
  • The Perfect Setup 150
  • Full closet 200
  • Sausage Fest 200

baigais

PostPosted: Sun Feb 25, 2007 3:27 pm
Mezzo-soprano, usually.  
PostPosted: Tue Mar 06, 2007 6:44 pm
Yeah, same with me. I tend to waver between mezzo and alto (I'm a girl), sometimes getting up to second soprano depending on the part, but I'm thinking in terms of musical theatre and choir. Is it different with opera? The only opera song I've sung is "Chanson Boheme" from Carmen. I didn't think I'd get that second-to-last note, but I pulled through in the end. It was as loud as anything, but it was supposed to be loud so all that mattered was that it was in tune.  

Falafel25

6,550 Points
  • The Perfect Setup 150
  • Full closet 200
  • Sausage Fest 200

baigais

PostPosted: Wed Mar 07, 2007 4:57 pm
Well, at my lesson my teacher told me that I had the range of a high soprano.
I have a two to three octave range, but when it comes to actually singing music it kind of depends. In choir I'm a second soprano/1st alto. We don't really get a section name. Our teacher just calls us "the middles" or "sopraltos" so in that it's pretty much the same.